It's election day

So today is election day, and I’m one of the few on Planet Fedora that can’t vote. As a consolation, I’m producing a live TV show at the local access TV station called “Electile Dysfunction: A last-minute Presidential debate.”

It’s on Salina cable channel 21, which doesn’t apply very much to anyone reading this. So I’ve set up a live stream through Access, which will be linked to from tv.ianweller.org at 8 PM CST (9 PM EST, 6 PM PST, 2 AM GMT). Liiiiiiiiiive!

So if you’re sick of watching election results, see what we’re doing.

Enrollment

High school enrollment happened today. It was a success, I think.

Usually each year at enrollment, since my scheduling is usually a special case (lucky me! not) I check in with my counselor a couple of weeks before school actually starts, just to make sure my schedule is sane.

Last year’s schedule: 1 class at the other high school in town, and doubling 2 classes during one period.
This year’s schedule: perfectly normal.

Yay!

Swallowing skyscrapers

How to demolish a skyscraper one floor at a time.

First they replace the support pillars at ground level with computer-controlled metal columns. Then, a crew carefully demolishes the entire floor by hand, leaving the structure resting on the mechanical pillars, which then go down slowly until the next floor is at ground level. They replace the support pillars again with the mechanical ones, destroy that floor, and repeat the operation until they get rid of all the floors.

Test grades

I got my AP exam grades over the phone just now, and my ACT score in the mail on Wednesday. Results:

  1. ACT Composite Score: 32
  2. AP Chemistry: 3
  3. AP Statistics: 5
  4. AP World History: 3

For those who may have forgotten, ACT scores range from 1 to 36, and AP scores range from 1 to 5.

I was quite surprised by both my ACT and AP World History scores… I was expecting much lower ones.